Kiss My Ass Guys, You’re On Your Own

So sticking with his unhurried run of an album every three years Austin TX scruffy, beardy songwriter type Hayes Carll puts out his fourth record today called KMAG YOYO (and other American stories). It’s pretty darned good I gotta tell you – takes a coupla listens. Y’all may remember how much we all enjoyed ‘She Left Me For Jesus’ off his last record there, maybe not. Those of you who been enjoying his ‘Grateful for Xmas’ on the country christmas mix,  it finds a proper release here. Opener ‘Stomp and Holler’ let’s his bar room side run a little free and well, stomps and hollers. On first listen I wasn’t too taken by that but now I love it and it does boast the lyric “I’m like James Brown, but white and taller and all I wanna do is stomp and holler” which makes me smile. KMAG YOYO is an army acronym (kiss my ass guys, you’re on your own) and the title track here is very much in the driving, tumble of words style of ‘Subterranean Homesick Blues’ detailing a bundle of hallucinatory military misadventures.

The other track here ‘Another Like You’ sits next to it in the middle of the record and is a masterful comedic duet of lust and hate. A lot more The Broken Family Band’s ‘Alone In The Make-out Room’ than Tammy & George. Here again he can’t resist a Dylan reference “You was openly frustrated, you said Dylan’s overrated, while singing ‘Tangled Up In Blue‘”. Still there’s as much of other Texas greats like Townes and Wille and Robert Earl Keen in there as Dylan. Ol’ Bob just stealin’ the damn limelight as usual, what is it with that guy? Now, while a world weary humour runs through Carll’s writing (his backing band rejoice in the name The Poor Choices and he’s been sponsored on tour by the onion) it doesn’t obscure real emotion in the songs and he don’t play for laughs. I lost my train of thought here, whatever,  it’s a great record from the good people at lost highway – go buy yerself one OK?

KMAG YOYO

Another Like You

 

~ by Mumblin' Earl on February 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “Kiss My Ass Guys, You’re On Your Own”

  1. My ass guys ?

  2. My ass guys

Leave a Reply

 
