Gotta See The Special Man

Here then friends is that New Orleans mix I made mention of a short ways back. It’s been simmering on the stove so to speak. Hell, it ain’t just for Mardi Gras, it’s a year round deal. Now gumbo probably has as many recipes as it has cooks – it’s just a bunch of stuff all thrown in a pot. So let’s not get too particular, this one here has got a heavy portion of Brass Band floating around in it – chewy! and a bunch of other things besides. If I have time and feel inclined I might write a little more about some of these guys soon,  we’ll see. Always been more a red beans an rice type of guy myself you know? One last spoonful of this shaky food metaphor an I’m gone, here’s your list of ingredients…..

Brother Earl’s Gumbo Mix

get up – the hot 8 brass band
complicated life – preservation hall jazz band
quit my job – bobby marchan
hambone – little booker
sissy walk – sonny jones
all night long pt 2 – robert parker
jump into your love – Ernie K-Doe
Yeah You’re Right, You Know You’re Right – the gaturs
street parade pt 1 – Earl King
my feet can’t fail me now – Dirty Dozen Brass Band
I want my money back – Treme Brass Band
sweet emma – James Andrews
I ate up the apple tree – Kermit Ruffins
back to broke – All That
doing bad – Rebirth Brass Band
In the 6th – Trombone Shorty

~ by Mumblin' Earl on March 24, 2011.

One Response to “Gotta See The Special Man”

  1. […] tune I put on the recent Gumbo Mix was just about the last thing K-Doe released, while the one on Stagger cast #20 and the stuff we […]

Leave a Reply

 
