Get Right With God – Prodigal Son

I ain’t got much to say to you all this mornin’ friends, but I do got a couple tunes by an outfit who rejoice in the name The Sensational Golden Light Quartet of Philadelphia. Now ain’t that a wonderful thing all by itself there? Informative too, for they are indeed a harmony gospel quartet from the city of brotherly love. Much more than that I can’t really tell you, nor can I be bothered to go look it up. The parable of the Prodigal son you are all familiar with I expect, and from what I recall there ain’t too much brotherly love on show there. Nor in Philadelphia from what I hear, come to mind. Make of that what you will. It’s kinda like this time when we was young ‘uns getting paid to do a bunch of yard work for our Dad. He was out for the day so Randy took all the money into town to get some beers for us. He come back the next mornin’ all filthy an wretched lookin’ and somehow I’m the bad guy ‘cos I done all the work and ain’t glad he ain’t dead like everybody else. Is that right? He probably tells it different.

The other track isn’t quite so much to my personal liking, but it’s some technically impressive singing going on right there.

Prodigal Son

When I’ve Gone the Last Mile

~ by Mumblin' Earl on May 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
