Merry Texmas

last-christmas-i-hid-josephs-present-so-well-I-still-haven't-found-it

Randy has kind of a thing about Texas, he likes that whole ‘fierce independence’ type deal they got going on down there. Me, I just tend to get stopped by the cops every time I’m in Austin. Not arrested thank the good lord although that’s probably ‘cos I ain’t black or mexican to tell the truth. Oh come on, you know it’s a factor. Still, they just plain don’t like my face, jealous I’m so darn purty I reckons. Anyways, Willie might have written the deathless anti-littering campaign ditty ‘don’t mess with texas’ but when it comes to christmas there is one texas tune that rules them all. I’m a talkin’ about Robert Earl Keen’s ‘Merry Christmas From The Family’ here friends. Solid gold work of wonder – if it ain’t part of your christmas this is the year you start. Now, Keen ain’t all that well known and it’s mostly for this song but there’s other stuff worth checkin’ out. He kinda sounds like Dale off of King Of The Hill a bit for one and he suffered from some pretty ugly production crimes on his records (like a lot of country guys in the 80’s) but he’s got a way with words so here’s another seasonal type tune from his first record so y’all at least know two of his songs now…

Robert Earl Keen  – Merry Christmas From The Family

Robert Earl Keen  –  The Coldest Day Of Winter

~ by Mumblin' Earl on December 23, 2011.

2 Responses to “Merry Texmas”

  1. Anyone who sounds like Dale Gribb… err I mean Rusty Shackleford is good in my books!

  2. Brilliant observational christmas song – I was listening to it on christmas day myself.

Leave a Reply

 
