I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say…

See now friends, the more I been thinkin’ on it the more there is to write about the musical misadventuring of ol’ Mac Rebbenack but it seemed to me I’d be tiring your patience some and putting up a whole heap too much of the man’s music here and so I got to thinkin’. And you knows that’s always trouble. I didn’t want to put up no ‘best of the Dr’ mix neither. Way back a year or two the first Gumbo mix I done for y’all was based partly on the Dr’s album of that same name and this one kinda starts out in similar vein regardin’ the ‘Goin’ Back To New Orleans’ record (which y’all have just bought to go alongside his fine new one, right?) and it takes in stuff he’s covered and covers of his own tunes and stuff he played on and other stuff besides no doubt. There’s a bunch I could say about the ways things relate one to another here and the characters involved but… another day maybe. Enjoy friends.

I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say

Louis Armstrong & His Orchestra  –  Basin Street Blues
Bessie Smith  –  Careless Love
Jelly Roll Morton  –  I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say
Professor Longhair  –  She Ain’t Got No Hair
Roosevelt Sykes  –  The Honeydripper
Mac Rebbenack  –  The Honeydripper pt. 2
Ronnie & The Delinquents  –  Keeps Dragging Me On
Bobby Marchan, Geri Hall & the Clowns  –  Sea Cruise
Dr. John  –  Rockin’ Pneumonia & the Boogie Woogie Flu
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band (ft Dr. John)  –  It’s All Over Now
Johnny Jenkins   –  Walk On Guilded Splinters
Dr. John  –  Qualified (live)
James Booker  –  Life
Ray J  –  Right Place, Wrong Time
Bo Dollis & The Wild Magnolias  –  Quitters Never Win
Earl King  –  Make A Better World
Dr. John  –  Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
Dr. John  –  Swanee River Boogie
James Booker  –  Classified
Dr. John – Wade II :Hurricane Suite  –  Storm Surge
Bo Dollis & The Wild Magnolias  –  Walk On Guilded Splinters
The Wild Tchoupitoulas  –  Brother John
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band (ft Dr. John)  –  Big Chief

~ by Mumblin' Earl on April 10, 2012.

2 Responses to “I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say…”

  1. […] posts about the good Dr. that Booker might finally get his due here. He popped up a couple times on that mix I done and what with Jack White puttin’ me in mind of  ‘Papa was A Rascal’ I […]

  2. The late Billy Bible used to have a couple of records with the phrase “I thought I heard Buddy Bolden Say, Funky Butt, Funky Butt, take it away” at the front before some march music. Supposedly they had Buddy’s name on them. When I moved here my girlfriend told me the guy that delivers newspapers named Billy Bible supposedly had some old time edison cylinders she called them. She got the story from being a bar tender from a guy everyone knows is the town drunk is two of the boxes had the name “Buddy Bolden”. This drunk guy said they sounded like crap but Billy Bible thought they were gold. Anyway, he’s dead now. Bible. Don’t know who got his stuff. He also chased UFO’s so go figure so they say. Bible.

Leave a Reply

 
