Oh Piledriver, I Think I Love You

What with living out in the boondocks and also with me having kind of a bad back and all – plus, the crushing poverty – I didn’t show much interest in Record Store Day this year. There were a bunch of things I wanted that’ll all be on ebay now anyway. But Brother Earl lives a spit away from a fine record store so he was out bright and early ( Birmingham is always bright?) and he picked me up the Caitlin Rose 7″. Which is what I wanted most and now I’m grinning.

It’s a couple of covers of songs by the Arctic Monkeys and it proves what I suspect – that Alex Monkey fella can write a decent song but they ain’t best served by that whiny Yorkshire indie-schmindie approach. Caitlin, who we LOVE round here, gives Piledriver Waltz a fantastic Nashville makeover AND put together a damn fine video too.

And isn’t she just cute as a button?

~ by stagger lee on April 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
