King Of The Swingers

Well friends, I told y’all I had somethin’ stupid for you didn’t I? The er, genesis, if you will, of this mix goes back a year or two when I got in the habit of playin the monkey song from The Jungle Book out at festivals. You know everybody loves that, an so it evolved some as I started to slippin’ 3 or 4 monkey songs in a row in there. It was kind of a fun thing. We’re all about the fun here y’knows. Anyway a couple weeks back a friend ask me if I can make a CD of kinda monkey and jungle type tunes for them to play at they kids party. What we got here is a version of the result. Things went a little bit wrong with the first draft I hear on account I got my Johnny Otis and Big Three Trio versions of ‘The Signifying Monkey’ mixed up. Boy, some of them Mamas was mad with me. Some of the language they used was worse than in the damn song! Don’t fear nor fret though, if you headin’ out cross country in a hot car with yer own lil’ monkeys a jumpin’ in the back for a ‘break’ there, then this mix is safe for they lil’ ears and has a bunch of pretty fun songs in there along with the usual old record club mash of genres for the whole family to enjoy. We’ll maybe get around to those baaad monkeys some other time.

Jungle V.I.P.

Smoky Joe Bauch  –  The Signifying Monkey
Chuck Berry – Too Much Monkey Business
Hank Thomson – You Can’t Put That Monkey On My Back
Big ‘T’ Tyler – King Kong
The Sadies  –  Monkey & Cork
Dave Rawlings Machine  –  Monkey & the Engineer
Harry Belafonte  –  Monkey
Hot Lips Page  –  Jungle King
Dirty Dozen Brass Band  –  The Monkey
Rufus Thomas – Can Your Monkey Do The Dog?
Joe Tex  –  One Monkey Don’t Stop No Show
Bo Diddley  –  Stop My Monkey
King Khan & His Shrines  –  King Of The Jungle
Green Hornet  –  Monkey Shines
13th Floor Elevators  –  Monkey Island
Choker Campbell  –  Mickey’s Monkey
Louis Prima  –  I Wan’na Be Like You (The Monkey Song)
The Big Three Trio  –  Signifying Monkey
The Pygmies  –  Don’t Monkey With Tarzan
Dr. Feelgood  –  Monkey
Thee Milkshakes  –  The Red Monkey
The Cadets  –  Stranded In the Jungle
Don & Dewey  –  Jungle Hop
Elephant’s Memory  –  Jungle Gym At The Zoo
Dick Dale & The Del-Tones  –  Jungle Fever
Cliff Crofford  –  Monkey See, Monkey Do
Mr David Viner  –  Monkey Rag
R.L.Burnside  –  Monkey In The Pool Room

~ by Mumblin' Earl on May 31, 2012.

2 Responses to “King Of The Swingers”

  1. […] King Of The Swingers « Randy & Earl’s Old Record Club. Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tweet about it […]

  2. Jungle VIP is such a great movie. I enjoy every scene of it. It was one of the funniest movie of the year. 2 thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

 
