I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings

revue50

 

Way back when my brother Earl and  I came up with the idea of doing a gospel show for you good people, we made it clear that we weren’t Godly folk. Far from it, in fact. And, speaking for myself at least, the same is true today.

But that don’t mean to say that over the last year of shows there weren’t times – when Sister Aretha or Sister Rosetta or Brother Cooke or Brother Cash, or even Little Richard himself yearned and praised and reached out – there weren’t times when I reckon we both felt a little intimation of something other. We don’t call it God, but we might call it soul. I defy you to listen to the music in this last hour of the Gospel Revue – an hour long selection of our favourite tunes – and not feel something that’s BIGGER than you.

We dedicate this last show the recently passed Maya Angelou.

You can download Gospel Revue #50 here and stream it here

 

  1. Elder Beck – Rock And Roll Sermon

  2. Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – Jordan River

  3. The Delta Rhythm Boys – Keep On To Galilee

  4. The Radio Four – Blood Done Signed My Name

  5. The Mighty Clouds of Joy – Judgement Day

  6. Five Gospel Stirrers – Well, Well – Don’t Worry About Me

  7. Norman And Nancy Blake – Dry Bones

  8. Marie Knight – His eyes on the sparrow

  9. Marion Williams – I Pity The Poor Immigrant

  10. The Soul Stirrers – Farther Along

  11. The Gospel Harmonettes Of Demopolis, Alabama – Jesus On The Mainline

  12. The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – I’ll Fly Away

  13. LaVerne Baker – Saved

  14. Dorothy Love Coates – I Wouldn’t Mind Dying

  15. Alison Krauss – Down To The River

  16. Aretha Franklin – How I Got Over

  17. Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Up Above My Head

  18. The Caravans – To Whom Shall I Turn

  19. Edwin Hawkins Singers – Oh Happy Day!

 

‘His wings are clipped,
His feet are tied,
So he opens his throat to sing’

Maya Angelou

~ by stagger lee on June 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
