Darlene Love, Ladies and Gentlemen

darlenelove2

We’ve sorta eased fairly gentle into the season here this year, to be honest friends ain’t feelin it so much, been a staggering shitstorm of a year and the ‘goodwill to all men’ has been put right up on the top shelf where I gots to get the steps to reach it. BUT – let’s go full on festive with both barrels today and I’ma tell you why. You gots to get ahead on these things sometimes for your own peace of mind. Other folks are keen so I got the recent xmas mix up fer ’em the other day but I ain’t played it myself yet this year. It ends with Darlene Love’s ‘Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)’ which is about the greatest Christmas record anyone ever done, it ain’t no doubt about it friends, sure as santa be wearing red trousers. Now, as the christmas music starts to play in every public place and on tv and all about, just ain’t no way you can avoid this coming to you and I find it’s not the sort of thing I want to encounter in some sorry little hell hole of capitalism lookin’ to find a gift or just buying milk or something. You know what I mean? I love this song with all my heart, first time I hear it every year it still gives me goosebumps and makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. Even now. I don’t know what it is about it but it’s just magic. Letterman knew this too, which is why he had Darlene on the show every year to sing it from 1986 until he left last year. That was a wonderful holiday tradition if you ask me. This clip is the last time they did it, Christmas 2014, it’s fantastic. Most if not all of the performances are on youtube, they start with a small band and slowly build year on year to a huge full wall of sound. Paul Schaffer used to annoy me on Letterman if I’m honest, but he done great work making this happen and I forgive him everything for it. When you’re ready for a full strength 100% proof shot of christmas click play. I’d advise against watching all of the old clips in one sittingbecause it left me weeping unstoppably and I don’t even know if it was joy or what. Merry Christmas.

 

spector

~ by Mumblin' Earl on December 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
